Stitch by Stitch

July 13, 2010 § 10 Comments

Most of you who read my blog are in fact crocheters, knitters, or other fiber-artisans. This isn’t meant to be a “yay me!” but it was an enlightening moment none-the-less.

I was working on the latest skirt for my shop when I realized that could easily calculate how many stitches I had created in making the piece. I sis it out of curiosity at first, and then it became an obsession when I realized just how many stitches went into a project.

16,644 stitches…

that is how many visible and useful stitches there are in that skirt. I was dumbfounded when I realized that my hands created each and every one of those stitches and in the end they interlock with one another and move as a unit to create a finished garment.

This is the same for afghans, hats, baby booties, the list goes on and on.

Do we as artisans respect our own craft? Each stitch in every row? Do we honor that when we price our items?

Unfortunately the answer is so often no. We assume no one will pay a high price for a baby blanket so we devalue our hard work and talent.

Even one of my hats incorporates 1,974 stitches; how many hats have I done?

Look at your hands; thank them for what they do for you.

Look at yourself; realize that you are a talented human being with a gift.

Look at your projects; respect and honor them.

Time is constant, and is easily wasted. Think of your projects  as “saved” time.

Support handmade!

-Benji

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Stitch by Stitch

  • Thank you so much for posting this! It’s just what I needed to read tonight. Everyone needs to appreciate the time, effort, and heart that goes into making a handmade item. A little piece of my soul gets sewn into each crown that I make. I could spend my time doing so many things, yet I choose to spend it creating. If we value our work so will others.

    Stephanie

  • Interesting topic. Perhaps one should include the number of stitches in the item along with the fiber content and washing instructions. Maybe everyone would appreciate all the work that goes into the piece and understand the time and talent it takes to produce something.

  • […] 14, 2010 at 8:04 am (knit, knitting) (knit, knitting, yarn) I was reading Benjamin Krudwig’s  post this morning and decided to use his idea for my post today.  He discussed how many stitches […]

  • Denise says:

    Wow! Very inspiring! Thank you for pointing out what should be obvious to crafters!

  • Thank you for stitch by stitch – what is missing are the ideas running through the crafter’s mind to create such lovely items or even the stitches which have been ripped out to make a piece perfect. Thank you.

  • cpeezers says:

    “Saved Time” I LOVE that!

  • Jayne says:

    I am a basket weaver so I certainly can appreciate the time and effort that goes into creating your lovely items. I would always laugh when people would comment on the how much I would charge them to make a basket and they would say…OH…that’s kind of pricey but then I’d be at their house and they thought nothing of spending $100 on a mass produced Longaberger basket.

    I just wonder…how many miles and miles of reed I’ve used the last 10 years weaving baskets!!

  • Vickie Leigh says:

    What a fabulous blog. I am a painter, and Ben’s blog reminded me that creating something from the heart is never a waste of time. As his mother, I am amazed at the things that Ben can see in his mind, and then put into a tangible creation. It blows the mind. I am reminded to give thanks for my creative gifts and the body that helps make it possible.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stitch by Stitch at And the Day Continues.

meta

