Inspiration

July 17, 2010 § Leave a comment

I know, no witty title for this one, but don’t worry, there will be plenty of puns down the road!

Today I wanted to talk about something that jbcrochetdelights reminded me of in a comment from my last post, inspiration.

As an artist, the question of ‘why do you create what you create?’ is asked every time and outsider sees your work, whether or not the question is verbal or expressed, it is asked.

In many cases it is quite obvious; a trip to a foreign country, a look at someone’s art  gallery, spending  a day outside, or in the case of the Create Crochet Team challenge right now, the inspiration is given, music.

What if there isn’t a given inspiration? I tend to think that as long as you have a memory and a mind, you have inspiration.

I dyed some yarn the other day and was immediately had a plan for it. The colors took on an attitude, a persona if you will.

I was inspired  by the yarn and then inspired by other things to make the design solid in my head.

There still seems to be an underlying question, ‘what happens inside the artist to get from the inspiration to the item?’ I can’t explain how I do it as it kind of just happens without my prodding. I am a very visual thinker and automatically start “seeing” things in my mind when I think of something.

So what inspires me? Well,  I generally find my inspiration from nature. The colors, forms, and movement all lend something to my creative process. The way the clouds intermingle with one another in the sky, or how the swallow-tail butterfly has such striking patterns, all go into my mind and sometimes into the tangible products I create.

There is inspiration everywhere, and if you don’t see it, open  your eyes a little further. New inspiration is waiting for you.

Happy creating!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inspiration at And the Day Continues.

meta

