Me likey – miakayuuki06

October 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

Very rarely does a shop come along where I go “Holy crap! that is amazing stuff I want it all!!!”

This shop happens to be one of those shops!

I am completely blown away by the artistic talent that is overflowing from her store! Please enjoy the interview and support a fellow etsian!

-Benji

 

Who are you? What would you like the world to know about you? (background etc)
I’m a recent graduate from the Ringling College of Art and Design in Sarasota, FL. I got my degree in Illustration with a minor in Photography, but that’s all stuff you can read about in my bio. What I don’t talk about is that I’m an army brat (moved around 8 different times in my life before the age of 11). I’m also obsessed with Japanese culture and have been to the country 2 times (once for tourism; the other time for classes).

What first got you started in arts/crafts?
I’m not entirely sure. My mother’s side of the family always leaned on the creative side of things. I know my great grandfather was a painter, so it might just be in my blood. I can tell you I have been drawing since I could first pick up crayons. I got in trouble for it often in school. I would draw on tests and homework assignments, which my teachers didn’t approve of.

Why is creativity so important to you?
We’d all be terribly boring people wouldn’t we if there were no creativity. In reality, being a creative person saved me in a way. From moving my whole life, I had a really hard time understanding people and fitting in. I was really lonely most of my childhood, aside from my sisters. I clung to the arts; singing, reading, writing, and painting. I even dabbled into acting at one point, but that was a bad idea (even if it was just improv). Singing and creating visual art gave me a medium to express whatever I was feeling, be it good or bad.
What is your favorite item in your shop and why?
My favorite item in my shop would have to be my Tea Pot Still Life painting because it was my first oil painting I ever did. I’m still in love with that painting to this day, but it needs to go to a good home.

Who/What is your inspiration?
This is a tough one. I’m just going to start listing artists that inspire me in no particular order: James Jean, John Singer Sargent, Winslow Homer, Audrey Kawasaki, Mihara Mitsukazu, Shawn Barber, Frank

Frazetta, Jeph Loeb, Tim Sale, Dave McKean, Alphonse Mucha, Yoshitaka Amano, Yoshitoshi Abe, Mary Cassat, Tezuka Osamu, Jhonen Vasquez, Ai Yazawa, Arthur Rackham, Misha Gordin, Ansel Adams, and Joel-Peter Witkin. Honestly, the list goes on. There are so many artists that inspire me! This is just the main bunch of people I’m fairly obsessed with.

Do you have a blog, twitter, facebook, flickr, etc?
Yes to most of these! Here are some ways you can follow me:
Blog: http://www.kfitzpat.blogspot.com
Deviantart: http://www.wastedwings.deviantart.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/KellyfIllustration
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kelly-fitzpatrick/1b/a89/632
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/wastedwings
Website: http://www.ringling.edu/~kfitzpat

And of course my etsy is: http://www.etsy.com/shop/miakayuuki06

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Me likey – miakayuuki06 at And the Day Continues.

meta

