And the Day Continues

February 1, 2012 § 1 Comment

Why am I posting with a title that is also the title of my blog? Because I need to remind myself that the day does indeed continue.

After these last couple of weeks I have found myself in a limbo of indecision and apathy. I have no motivation to do anything, and my creative juices are all but dried up. I’ve been going through the motions of school, going to class and participating because it is my duty, not because I truly want to. My emotions have felt stifled as I try to put on a game-face in the midst of family issues and art critiques.

I need to remember that what one person says about my work is not the general opinion even if the others remain silent, and if they can’t see the content, they aren’t looking, or they have different glasses on. It is difficult to find the balance between being attached to work enough to be proud of it but keeping a distance that means you won’t feel personally attacked when someone critiques your work.

I feel like I am rambling, but I needed to post this in the general world because for some reason it makes it all more real and I can cope and continue on with my life.

I leave you with this:

Creation for pleasure is a need, but it is selfish if you don’t use your art for social awareness as well. It can be a meditation as well as therapy. If you can create work that makes someone stop and think and perhaps transform their mind, that is where the power of art lies.

Create for yourself, but also create for the commons.

Even when the day seems to stand still, it does indeed continue…

-Benjamin

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to And the Day Continues

  • jellybeanyee says:

    Yes, no matter what happens and how people feel, the world goes on ! You are invited to visit my blog, the videos and songs there may make you feel better. jellybeanyee.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And the Day Continues at And the Day Continues.

meta

