Good Friends, Good Food, Good Wine

February 17, 2012 § Leave a comment

As the week comes to a close, and the long days are over, I want to reflect on the things I am so grateful for.

Good Friends:

I can honestly say that I could not have gotten through these last couple of weeks without my friends. In particular my lovely and extremely supportive girlfriend. She has been a such a steady rock for me as I have wavered with my emotions, bouncing from grief to elation and back again. My roomies are a constant source of laughter and joy, and after a week like this week, I certainly needed ample amounts of joy. Old friends, it is always nice to know that whether or not we are in constant contact, we still have each-other’s backs, and still care when things get rough. New friends, it is sobering to know how many good people there are in the world, who are there to ask if you are okay, and will take up some slack when you just need to let go a little.

To all of these folks, thank you! You have been such a great help to me this week, and every week I have known you all!

Good Food:

here is the literal meat of the post, not just the “life meat” but the actual meat portion.

I love cooking, and anyone who has read my previous recipe, I love improv cooking! I started this week with 4 chicken tenderloins (I would cook 5 now that I think about it) 2 lemons and 2 friends who I wanted to cook dinner for. Girlfriends and room-mates are great, because they are a “captive” audience.

 

Benjamin’s Lemon Chicken (feeds 2-3)

This meal is gluten free, dairy free, soy free and nut free. (Vegan if you replace the chicken with whatever substitute you enjoy, and if you replace the honey with some brown sugar or agave nectar)

Lemon Chicken

Here are the ingredients:

1 cup of Brown Rice

4-5 chicken tenderloin pieces

juice from 1 cara cara orange (a blood orange would also be fantastic with this recipe)

juice from 1 lemon

1.5 lemons sliced thinly

1 cup of white wine (I used a cheap chardonnay called Glory Days)

2-3 Tbsp of honey

a sprinkling of chili powder

 

First, start cooking your brown rice since it takes 45-50 minutes to cook properly

defrost your chicken, cut into small pieces

cut and juice your lemons and juice your oranges (make sure you have slices)

add your wine and honey to the juice mixture

sear your chicken on both sides by placing the pieces in a hot skillet with a drizzle of olive oil.

once the chicken is seared, place lemon slices on the chicken, put a lid on the skillet for approximately 2 minutes

pour the liquid mixture into the pan, making sure the chicken is covered fully.

Sprinkle some chili powder over the pan to taste

cook with a lid for 8-10 minutes over medium heat until the chicken is fully cooked, but still tender.

serve in a bowl over the rice and enjoy!

 

Good Wine:

I paired the meal with a chardonnay called “Menage a Trois” it has a tangy bite that goes perfectly with the acidity of the lemons and the sweetness of the orange and honey.

 

Remember, the Day Continues, but with friends, the night also continues!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good Friends, Good Food, Good Wine at And the Day Continues.

meta

